Skip to main navigation.

Director Qualifications

Below are the director qualifications as they appear in the cooperative's bylaws section 1 and section 2:

  • Section 1:  General Powers.  The business and affairs of this Cooperative shall be managed by a board of directors who must be members of this Association.  The Board of Directors of the Association shall be a variable-range sized board of directors consisting of not less than five (5) and not more than nine (9) directors, as the board of directors shall from time to time establish.

  • Section 2:  Qualification and Tenure.  The Cooperative’s service territory shall be divided into four (4) geographic sectors or districts with each containing, as near as possible, an equal number of members. The four (4) districts will be known as: District 1 – Northwest Sector District 2 – Northeast Sector District 3 – Southwest Sector District 4 – Southeast Sector A map reflecting the district boundaries for each of the above four (4) districts shall be maintained at the Cooperative’s headquarters which may be revised or redistricted by board action from time to time so that the districts contain as nearly as possible an equal number of members within the Cooperative’s four (4) voting districts. One (1) Cooperative board member, or director, will be elected from each of the four (4) numbered districts indicated. A director elected to represent one of the four (4) numbered districts will be a resident of the district he or she is elected to represent. In addition, up to five (5) “at-large” directors who are residents of the Cooperative’s service area (exact number of at-large directors to be determined by the Cooperative’s Board of Directors and as by law allowed) will be elected, regardless of where he or she resides within the Cooperative service area. At each annual meeting of the members, a number of directors equal to the number of vacant seats on the board of directors shall be elected to hold office for a term of three (3) years, or until their respective successors shall have been elected and qualified. The election of directors shall be by ballot and each voting member shall be entitled to cast one (1) vote for each director to be elected, as more specifically described in Article II, section 6 of the By-Laws. No member shall be eligible to become or remain a director or to hold any position of trust in the Cooperative who is not a bona fide resident in the area served by the Cooperative, or who is anyway employed by or financially interested in a competing enterprise or business selling electric energy or supplies to the Cooperative or a business primarily engaged in selling electrical or plumbing appliances, fixtures and supplies to the members of the Cooperative. When a membership is held jointly by a husband and wife, either one, but not both, may be elected a director, provided, however, that neither one shall be eligible to become or remain a director or to hold a position of trust in the Cooperative unless both shall meet the qualification hereinabove set forth. Nothing in this section contained shall, or shall be constructed to, affect in any manner whatsoever the validity of any action taken at any meeting of the board of directors.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Link to Zon Veld solar production website Link to Co-op Connections for member savings Click to learn how to save energy